Penny Gross was first elected to the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors on November 7, 1995. Supervisor Gross serves as chair of the Board’s Personnel Policy and Reorganization Committee, and the Board’s Environment Committee. She has served as vice chairman of the Board since 2009.

Penny Gross

Supervisor Penny Gross

Experience Matters

As Mason District Supervisor, Penny Gross represents Mason District and Fairfax County on local, regional, state, and national organizations. Some of her responsibilities include:

  • Chairman, Northern Virginia Regional Commission (NVRC)
  • Chairman, Potomac Watershed Roundtable
  • Chairman, Local Government Advisory Committee (LGAC) to the Chesapeake Executive Council (gubernatorial appointment)
  • President, Virginia Association of Counties (VACo)
  • Vice Chairman, National Association of Counties’ Environment, Energy and Land Use Committee (NACo)
  • Member, INOVA Health System Board of Trustees
  • Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments (COG) Board of Directors, 1997 to present
    • COG Board Chairman in 2009
    • Immediate Past Chairman, Chesapeake Bay Policy Committee
    • Member, Human Services and Public Safety Policy Committee
    • Chair, Regional Water Supply Task Force
  • Immediate Past President, National Association of Regional Councils







Awards & Recognition

As a result of her tireless work on behalf of Mason District and Fairfax County, Penny Gross has been honored with numerous awards and recognitions, including:

  • 2014 National Public Official Award, Water Environment Federation
  • 2013 Virginia Public Official Award, Virginia Water Environment Association
  • 2009 Central Fairfax Services, Inc. Robert L. Bruggeman / Mary C. Michaud Lifetime Achievement Award
  • 2006 Most Distinguished Public Service Award, Arab-American Institute
  • 2006 Certificate of Appreciation, mason District Council of Civic Associations
  • 2004 Animal Services Award for Elected Official of the Year (COG)
  • 2003 Elizabeth and David Scull Metropolitan Public Service Award (COG)
  • 2001 Human Rights Award, Fairfax County Human Rights Commission
  • 1999 Citizen of the Year, Annandale Chamber of Commerce


  • Honorable Terrence R. McAuliffe, Governor of Virginia
  • Honorable Ralph S. Northam, Lieutenant Governor of Virginia
  • Honorable Mark R. Herring, Attorney General of Virginia
  • Honorable Gerald E. "Gerry" Connolly, US House of Representatives
  • Honorable Donald S. Beyer, Jr., US House of Representatives
  • Honorable Sharon S. Bulova, Chairman, Fairfax County Board of Supervisors
  • Honorable Richard L. Saslaw, Virginia State Senate
  • Honorable David W. Marsden, Virginia State Senate
  • Honorable Vivian E. Watts, Virginia House of Delegates
  • Honorable Kaye Kory, Virginia House of Delegates
  • Honorable Alfonso H. Lopez, Virginia House of Delegates
  • Honorable Marcus B. Simon, Virginia House of Delegates
  • Honorable Stacey A. Kincaid, Fairfax County Sheriff
  • Honorable Sandy Evans, Mason District School Board Member
  • Honorable Adam P. Ebbin, Virginia State Senate
  • Honorable Mark D. Sickles. Virginia House of Delegates
  • Honorable David L. Bulova, Virginia House of Delegates
  • Honorable Eileen Filler-Corn, Virginia House of Delegates
  • Honorable Mark L. Keam, Virginia House of Delegates
  • Honorable Kathleen J. Murphy, Virginia House of Delegates
  • Honorable Katherine K. Hanley, former Secretary of the Commonwealth of Virginia
  • Suchada (Sue) Langley, Chairman, Fairfax County Democratic Committee
  • Rachel Rifkind, Chairman, Mason District Democratic Committee
  • Honorable George Lamb, Northern Virginia Soil and Water Conservation District
  • Justin E. Fairfax, former Assistant US Attorney for the Eastern District of Virginia